Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they are visiting? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

In modern times, more and more families are moving up the social ladder, especially the upper middle class. Consequently, the world witnessed an increase in people who are economically able to afford international travel or migrations. Therefore, in my opinion, I firmly believe adaptation to the host country is necessary for the best experience. First and foremost, moving to another nation often results in a change in the timezone. Lack of sleep and fatigue are common symptoms of jet lag. If not anything, you would need to adapt to the new change quickly or else your body will cease to function smoothly. It is a problem each and every tourist needs to be aware of when planning trips. Secondly, different cultures have different views in certain areas. In most Asian countries, it is often considered a norm for one to take off their footwear before entering a household. Because so, a tourist from America, where there is no such thing, might be confused and scolded by Japanese hosts, for example. Moreover, in Vietnam, the gesture Americans called "fingers crossed" (which for them means wishing for good luck) is interpreted as an extremely rude swear word. Therefore, researching the host country is a good idea if you don't want to find yourself in sticky situations. However, there are some who claim that linguistic knowledge is not strictly required to learn a new culture. According to me, I completely disagree. While I admit one can observe a culture's rituals, traditions and overall environment and learn about it, I opine that fluency in its language also plays a role in bridging the gap between the guests and the hosts. Of course, knowing English practically enables one to comfortably communicate in most parts of the world. But, it is not the same as speaking the native tongue. A Chinese businessman is more likely to be interested in a partnership with your company if you can speak his mother tongue. It would be more comfortable for them to cooperate. To conclude, learning and adapting to a country's culture significantly enhances and smoothens one's experience when relocating or traveling. Furthermore, speaking in their tongue also grants you more respect from the natives, which can be important where cooperation is needed (such as in the business settings mentioned above).