Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that commercial exhibitions have an indispensable role in contemporary society. Many people harbor a belief that advertising is a significant factor that appeals to people to purchase a company’s merchandise, whilst others hold the opposite viewpoint. From my perspective, I am inclined to stand with the position that it certainly convinces people to buy goods. Initially, one of the reasons in favour of this viewpoint is that advertisements create impacts on customers. For instance, people are always exposed to a variety of commercials in their daily life, like coca cola, and it may exhibit its goods on roads, on television, or in other media. Although its exhibition of advertising may be an abstract video or picture, it causes people to memorize its brand. Consequently, when people would buy a beverage, they may first think of this renowned brand because it is already kept in their minds. On the other end of the spectrum, advertising often appears in daily life, so it might be easily ignored. For example, if an advertisement had been installed beside the road where a person passes every day, that person would not pay attention to it because he already knew its existence. As a result, this advertisement would not be appealing because it still stood in the same place so it can be omitted regularly. However, it seems that existing and repetitive pictures or videos cannot generate an impressive influence. To sum up, advertising impacts people ’s thoughts about purchasing because it often appears in front of people anywhere and at any time. In my opinion, advertising successfully persuades people to buy companies’ merchandise because it causes people to memorize a brand so that people would buy its commodity if they needed that kind of goods.