Some say that students should not be exposed to teachers' opinions on social and political issues in the classroom. Others, however, think that it is helpful for students to hear various perspectives. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that the social and political ideas of educators should not be shared with their students, whereas others believe that it is good learning for students to know different perspectives. I believe that classroom discussions on socio-political issues can help students develop their own personal opinions. This essay will discuss both views, and I will share my own opinion in the paragraphs below. On one hand, it is said that tutors should not expose young students to social and political beliefs. This idea applies to young students between the age groupgroup of 5-12 years because this age group is really immature and delicate, and it is difficult for them to comprehend such strong ideologies. Social issues such as sexual abuse, murder, burglary, eve-teasing, dark comedy, international relations, and bullying could be disturbing for them. For example, The Delhi rape case was actively avoided to be discussed in schools for age groups 5-15 years as a preventative measure to not disturb the young students, because they were too young to understand the context of this issue. It could have led to more negative influence rather than a positive outcome. On the other hand, classroom discussion can be a crucial developmental practice for high school teenagers. Young learners between age groups 15-19 years are mature enough to be taught socio-political issues. This age group is mentally affluent and sound to understand geo-political, sexual, and family violence issues. Additionally, teachers can become role models for them if they share their ideologies by engaging them in healthy group discussions on such topics. For example, The interstate debate held in Delhi Public School had many student participants, they all gave credit to their teachers for preparing them for this debate for months by sharing their own thoughts, and encouraging them to think and develop their own personal views. In conclusion, I believe that young students should not be exposed to harsh ideologies in school by their tutors, however high school students can be engaged in healthy group discussions, as they are more mature.