All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school.’ How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

Nowadays, everyone tries to communicate with people they don't know in other nations. Some people believe that the national language is inadequate for communication; children should start learning a foreign language in their schools. Learning a foreign language at an early age has several advantages, leading to higher achievements in future life. First, the benefits of learning a foreign language as a child appear to be overwhelmingly positive. The main reason is that the brain's ability to learn a new language reduces with growing up. Researchers have shown that through the age of 5-7, children can learn to speak another language with fluent grammar and without accent. Secondly, learning a new language can broaden children ’s horizons by enhancing their social skills. When they learn a foreign language, they become more interested in that country and can connect with it more easily. Moreover, they can cope with future issues related to their field of study by accessing the variety of sources presented in their second language. Likewise, language education is critical for the workforce; this is surely the most important reason. A well-known cause is that children who can speak foreign languages can find better job opportunities in the future. Admittedly, it is true that other skills need to be learned, such as science and math. Learning a new language might help improve these abilities because it strengthens brain function. In conclusion, this essay argues the importance of learning a foreign language as soon as children enter school. Because adults face barriers in learning new languages due to fear of mistakes and distractions, it is crucial to be able to speak more than one language to keep up with the world.