Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses?

In recent years, many people have decided to reduce or stop flying, which has sparked a debate regarding whether the environmental advantages of this development outweigh the drawbacks for individuals and businesses. This essay will discuss both views before coming to a conclusion. To begin with, aviation contributes significantly to carbon and greenhouse gas emissions. This has led to an increase in pollution and climate change. If the number of flights taken per year is reduced, there would be fewer toxic gases released into the atmosphere. This would lead to less pollution and a cleaner atmosphere. Moreover, if more land transport is used compared to air transport, carbon footprints can be reduced. If people use trains instead of planes, there would be lower negative impacts on the environment. For instance, in the UK, people use tubes or trams to travel in the city and trains to travel between countries, such as from England to Scotland. Trains usually have much lower emissions per passenger, as opposed to planes. This upsurge in the use of trains has led to lower negative impacts on the environment. In contrast, flights can carry a large number of passengers and cargo at once. If people use fewer planes and switch to other modes that carry fewer passengers, it could lead to increased pollution, as more trips need to be made. Furthermore, using fewer planes would have detrimental effects on businessmen as they will struggle when travelling to another country for a meeting or a business trip. To solve this issue, firms can host online meetings with clients instead of meeting in person. In a nutshell, the environmental benefits of flying less outweigh the drawbacks. The reduction in carbon emissions and the promotion of sustainable transport options are crucial steps towards combating climate change. As such, individuals and businesses should continue to explore and adopt more environmentally friendly alternatives to air travel.