In some countries an increasing number of people suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Health has been an indispensable issue in contemporary society. It is widely believed that people have unhealthy bodies because they consume too much junk food in daily life, so imposing more tax on this category of food would be an essential method to deal with this negative trend. I wholly concur with the aforementioned solution because it may bring some effective impacts to societies. Initially, one of the obvious merits is that a higher tax can make manufacturers suffer from financial pressure. For example, if they were required to pay more money to governments, they might raise the price of their product to compensate for this added payment to make both income and expenditure be proportionally maintained. Accordingly, the proportion of people who purchase this category of products will decrease due to the higher price. Consequently, the customers might choose vegetables and fruit if their prices of them were lower than unhealthy food. Moreover, authorities would confront the financial problem in medical and health fields due to the worsening public health. For instance, governments would have to allocate more funding to medical fields to prevent the health system from collapsing, such as running out of medicine and overcrowded hospitals. Thus, the source of this budget should come from junk food, and this method is feasible to resolve this problem. Based on such compelling explanations, it seems that imposing a higher tax on unhealthy food would be an effective method of coping with this topic. To sum up, nowadays, people focus on health more intensively. Many people believe that our health is becoming worse because we eat too much junk food; therefore, imposing more tax on it could be a solution, so that consumers would buy it less frequently. From my perspective, I totally agree with this position because it would result in more income for the government, and it might influence citizens to purchase cheaper healthy food.