The widespread of the Internet gives people more freedom to work and study at home instead of traveling to office and school. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

With the development of science and technology, internet is widely applied in various industries and fields, which allowed people to work and study at home rather than commute to work or do to school. I think this change has more benefits. First and foremost, working online is environmental sound. With the reduction of commute time, less vehicles will run on the road, which means less air pollution of emissions. Secondly, working and studying at home is economical. There would be less expenses for corporations if they do not have to pay office rent. And the fees for online courses are more acceptable relatively because they can be recorded and sold to millions of students. Furthermore, employees and students can accompany their families while working and learning at home. This can deepen the relationship between families to a tremendous extent. Last but not at least, time is saved as individuals stay at home and do not spend time travelling. As a result, they have more time to do exercise, which can enhance citizens’ physical fitness. Admittedly, there are some defects regarding to working and studying at home. Students are more likely to be distracted due to videos and games on the internet. It would also lead to inefficiency working at home if employees are attracted by other things. However, these problems can be tackled if proper management and supervision involved. To conclude, I hold the view that the advantages of working and studying at home exceed the disadvantages in the long term.