Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music is indeed an ageless bridge amongst people of diverse cultural backgrounds, beliefs, social statuses and ages across the globe. I completely agree with the assertion that songs bring people together as it is not the language of any particular country or tribe but a universal one. To begin with, music is a strong force that unites people,especially for a cause. For example, in 1997, several performing artists across the world collaborated to sing a song emphasizing the power of unity and the need to help the country, Haiti at that time. In addition, songs can address societal concerns such as bad governance, poor leadership and insecurity issues. That is, there are a lot of individuals who do not ordinarily watch the news to be abreast of happenings, but will always have songs playing around them, hence, the message is passed across to them through that medium. Furthermore, music is a strong bridge that closes the gap between the old and younger generations, implying that people, irrespective of their age or social status, can enjoy the same genre of songs. For instance, my grandmother of eighty-two years old dances to the tunes of Wizkid, a young entertainer of about twenty-five years old. According to her, she finds the beats enjoyable. Additionally, since singing is not the language of any specific nation, its listeners can enjoy its melody despite not understanding the language in most cases. In conclusion, music will always be a universal connector of people from different races and colours, as in it, lies no cultural bias. It will continuously be a tool that can enhance peace and unity amongst the nations of the world.