In recent time economic growth has made some people richer in both developed and developing countries. While studies show that people in developing countries are happier now than before, people in developed countries are no happier than they were before.

Nobody can deny the growing economic progress in both developing and developed nations thanks to globalization and the advent of high technology. In recent years, while people living in developing countries are more content with their life than those in the past, people residing in developed countries cope with the contrary phenomenon. Basically, there’re many reasons for this phenomenon and we will discuss the issue here. There is no doubt that happiness is the key factor that makes people ’s life more valuable. Obviously, people from developing nations, nowadays, can have higher living standards in comparison with their previous dwellers. In these countries, money plays a fundamental role in their daily life. With the rapid development of every life aspect, they strive to attain salary increments or financial rewards that enable them to escape from poverty. As a result, they become wealthier and feel happier in their life. It is true that enjoying our lives with our beloved people, along with other welfare benefits, appears to be among the great prerequisites for the desired life apart from working and earning a living. Jan-Emmanuel De Neve, Oxford University economist, and WHR collaborator says: “In terms of policy, we always feel that developing for the sake of growth cannot be considered the happiness of mankind." From that perspective, one can figure out such valuable lessons about happiness. For one thing, financial adequacy is indispensable. Without money, many people will have to lead a poor life and feel extreme fatigue all the time. As a result, people are often under constant pressure and cannot live happily as their counterparts who remain financially stable. In order to sustain the staff’s lives at the basic level, governments should support them by providing more job opportunities, greater subsidies during difficult times such as a global pandemic or economic crisis, or greater grants in case of healthcare issues. On the other hand, high competitiveness in the economy and target-related problems in modern society are factors that people are not happy about. Due to economic growth, companies have to compete fiercely against each other for the market. Therefore, employees are forced to work harder than before so that the company will not be overtaken by other companies in technology, quality, and quantity. In addition to the hectic life that they are supposed to lead, their performance at work is frequently assessed to reduce the risk of redundancy if the companies restructure or downsize. To illustrate, companies specializing in technology, and furniture,... have to regularly update the market situation to attract customers by creating new designs and technologies. When the competition among companies becomes intense, the workers will have to put more effort into their work to get a lot of tasks done. Subsequently, such poor work- life balance will make people in developed countries no longer as happy as they used to be. All in all, although it seems logical to accept certain reasons why more and more people have become materialistic, chasing a rich life without caring about the existing, good things around them, other aspects of life including environmental, social, and welfare issues also need to be closely taken notice of to ensure the ultimate sustainability. Human life is limited, what can be better to fulfil personal wishes as well as improve our living quality than spending more time for ourselves, travelling, discovering ourselves, nurturing our interests, and taking good care of our health. A matter of greater importance is that employers should offer their staff the dramatic availability of opportunities to enjoy their every moment of life.