Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

In this day and age, the tendency of people gaining weight is becoming serious. There are a number of reasons for this phenomenon and it may cause some effects on people ’s lives. There are numerous culprits for the overweight of people. First and foremost, the fast food industry is becoming more popular than ever because it is cheap and convenient. Therefore, fast food is a suitable option for everyone in this modern day. For example, if someone has a heavy and hectic schedule, they would prefer having fast food to save their time for work. Secondly, many people do not have the awareness of the importance of doing workouts and having a healthy diet. As a result, they may spend less time doing exercises or not even think about doing them. People ’s health will be affected by this situation. As people do not have time for exercise, they are not able to do certain tasks that require physical activities. For instance, some people would feel exhausted after going upstairs. Consequently, people might tend to be lazier, and gaining weight will keep happening. Furthermore, being overweight leads to many serious diseases such as obesity or diabetes. These illnesses are difficult to cure and also bring many other different long-term effects on people ’s health. In conclusion, it is obvious that there are some reasons for this issue which are the existence of fast food culture plus the ignorance of people about having a healthy lifestyle, and it leads to many serious consequences that directly affect people's health.