In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

In the last few years, there has been an increasing number of people who are opting to read electronic books over printed ones. In my opinion, the disadvantages of reading e- books rather than physical books outweigh its advantage and the following essay will discuss them both in detail. The primary advantage of choosing e- books over paper books is that people do not need to spend money on paper books. This is to say that, nowadays, physical books are extremely expensive, so everyone cannot buy them, but most e- books are free of cost. In addition, e- books are portable, so it is easy to carry from one place to another. For example, a survey in America found that most universities in western countries advise their students to use e- books, and teachers also teach them by downloading books from the internet. However, this essay argues that reading e- books have more disadvantages than advantages. The main disadvantage of giving more preference to e- books than paper ones is that it affects our eyes. This is because when a reader reads any book on a computer for a long time, it may lead to many eye problems. Moreover, there are many rudimentary places in the world where people do not have access to the internet, which is essential to download e- books. For instance, it was found that there is 30 percent of villages in India where the internet is unavailable, so most students depend on paper books. Therefore, I believe reading paper books is far better than reading e- books. In conclusion, although e- books are inexpensive and easy to use, I believe that the disadvantages of using electronic books over paper ones outweigh the advantages because staring at a screen for a long time can cause eye problems, and some people cannot use the internet as internet is not available in some villages and urban areas.