Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that nowadays young people seem to be playing on mobile phones all the time, even during having meals. While there are several main reasons behind this phenomenon, I believe using portable devices for too long will only be harmful to children ’s growth. Kids spend a large amount of time on smartphones for three main reasons. Firstly, cellphones have become a necessary part of modern life because the development of technology makes them much cheaper than before. For example, a mobile phone might cost more than 10,000 yuan about 20 years ago and only the rich man could afford one, but now a better phone may cost no more than 1,000 yuan so parents will buy them for their children in order to get in touch with them conveniently. Secondly, children are easy to be attracted by highly interactive applications, such as WeChat and various kinds of games. Sometimes even adults cannot resist the attraction of these apps. Finally, it’s easier to get information online than read books or study in classes, and children tend to do easier things. Therefore, they prefer to play on smartphones rather than do harder things. However, using mobile phones for too long is not beneficial for young children ’s development. On the one hand, kids who get too much fragmental information online will lose the ability to think deeply. Instead, they can only accept instant and short messages and do superficial thinking. On the other hand, using social media and playing games will distract users’ attention. It is important for kids to get an education at school, but if they are distracted, they will not get the proper knowledge and skills for adult life. Besides, watching electronic screens for too long leads to poor eyesight and may even cause some other health problems. In conclusion, the long use time of mobile phones may be caused by their cheap prices, interesting applications and human nature. But I believe this is a negative development and should be controlled for the health of children.