Should parents obliged to immunise their children against common childhood diseases? Or do individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children? What is your view of this practice?

With the advancement in science and medicine, our healthcare practitioners are able to protect children from some deadly viruses and diseases, thankfully. Surprisingly, some feel it should be the parents' choice to get their child immunised or not. I wholeheartedly disagree with this opinion. As such, in this essay, I will explain why I feel it is absolutely necessary to get every child vaccinated and what could be the consequences of not doing so.  Above all, we should be thankful to our scientists for developing medicines and vaccines that can help treat or prevent common childhood diseases. As the vaccines are believed to be 90% effective against deadly viruses, it is essential for every infant or youngster to get a dose at the mentioned age. Pulse, For instance, there is a scheme run by Rotary Health Clubs worldwide to eradicate polio from our society, but it defeats its purpose if even a single child misses out and gets infected. It is well established that polio can have some drastic effects on an infected child's body. It is, therefore, in my opinion, extremely important for parents to get their offspring immunised. There is, apparently, one more reason which contributes to the idea of compulsory vaccination. Some believe that a vaccine can have long-lasting side effects, but this thought has no truth to it. People should rest assured that the vaccines developed are well tested before they are brought to market and pose no threat to their children. In fact, chicken pox, for example, is a highly communicable virus that can infect vaccinated children as well if they are exposed to an infected one for a very long time, so it is a matter of an individual's duty towards society as well. It would not be fair to risk others' lives because of some parents' carelessness. While the government is trying to alleviate hazardous diseases, we cannot afford to not abide by the basic healthcare rules and regulations.  In conclusion, although some have preconceived notions in their minds pertaining to the side effects of immunises, there is no research that can prove it. Thus, in my view, the government should enforce strict rules regarding the immunisation of children at the right age.