Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether advertising more or less influences consumers to purchase. In my view, adverts still affect our purchasing willingness significantly. There are two main reasons why it could be argued that we no longer pay attention to advertisements. Firstly, traditional channels to contact advertising such as watching television programmes or looking at a brightly coloured billboard on the wall are replaced gradually by the Internet. For example, modern people, especially teenagers, prefer to use their mobile phones to watch the news or shows everywhere, which means television will probably be eliminated by new technologies. Secondly, dishonest advertising is becoming increasingly, and some people may lose their confidence to trust them. For instance, ineffective medicine was sold on television when I was younger, my father was one of the victims who bought the product which was disclosed as fake and exaggerated by the government. Despite the above argument, I believe that advertising still appeals to our purchase, but it has changed the platform from television to the digital world. The Youtube channel is one of the best examples, the young generation uses the website frequently, and the business put the advertising smartly that is difficult to notice. The Internet viewers may be influenced unconsciously. Another reason for this opinion is the big data. While you research anything, the Internet can remember and analyse your preference in order to recommend you that related products and may show them on the screen frequently to manipulate consumers to buy them. In conclusion, I believe that while the traditional forms of advertising may not attract consumers anymore, advertising has developed into a more attractive and inevitable way around us.