In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is no doubt that marketing strategies are essential in every business. Today, the majority of advertisements put an emphasis on their products as somewhat new. However, I see this occurrence as having more upsides than negatives. The increase in worldwide globalisation has also directly influenced the uprising of consumerism. This has led to numerous emergence of various innovative products we see today, as well as their own competition prompting people to think of creative ideas to promote their products, which I think is a good thing. For example, yearly, there is the release of new editions of Apple phones. Although the features are almost similar to each product's predecessor, the company have always been successful in increasing its sales due to its creative advertising. Somehow, consumers are astonished by the tiny details added, namely slightly wider screens or "brand new" colours. Moreover, with Apple's success in spiking sales for each release of their products, their competitors such as Samsung, Huawei and others are forced to match this innovation, now leading Apple to pave way for more "new" features. This is an ongoing cycle. Moreover, this also provides numerous job opportunities in tech with the rising demand for technological advancements namely researchers, product developers, cybersecurity and more. On the other hand, there is a downside to this trend. When various companies try their best to sell their products as new in many ways, consumers are often tricked into purchasing. Disappointment may fall upon buyers if the advertised features do not meet their expectations. This is why companies should advertise as accurately as possible to prevent such situations. In conclusion, putting emphasis on advertisements as "new" is beneficial for the majority as it forces current competition and even startups to be creative, as well as create numerous career opportunities in tech.