Online education is becoming increasingly popular. Many university students are choosing to study online instead of face to face. Do the advantages of distance education outweigh disadvantages?

Every student dreams of getting a world-class education from a renowned institute, and choosing a major or an institute is a daunting decision that they make in their lives. It is not always possible to visit a different country or state for higher education and thus, many are opting for distant education these days. In this essay, I will contend how it is advantageous and what disadvantages it can have. In my view, although it is a matter of choice and individuals should weigh both positives and negatives depending on their circumstances, it is best to have offline education. To begin with, students who prefer online mode of education, so so probably because of two reasons. One is, online education is far less expensive and affordable for many than the offline one. Certainly, if a student, for instance, is studying abroad and has to visit their homeland after every 6 months then they have to bear the airtravel cost. Moreover, they have to bear accommodation, food and other living costs. Another reason for choosing distant mode of study is homesickness, which is a major one for many individuals. They prefer to stay with their families and wish to get a degree from their dream institute as well, therefore, the best option for them is enrolling in an online course at a university of their choice. There are, however, a few disadvantages of online mode of study as well. First of all, college life doesn't come back. It is probably once or twice in your lifetime that you get to experience it, and I believe, this is one reason why some do not let go of the opportunity to be physically present at the college/university were they are studying. It is of course beneficial in other ways as well: able to work with peers, getting hands-on experience, learning co-operation and other practical as well as social skills. Another, perhaps related, disadvantage would be, unable to get in-person knowledge from teachers and lecturers. Undoubtedly, teachers are able to share real life examples and are able to demonstrate things in a better way when their students are physically present. In conclusion, although it is understandable that why students are increasingly opting for online education, in my opinion, it is better to experience college life. Nevertheless, if the students' circumstances do not allow to study offline, they should go for distant education.