Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines. Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

The benefits of vaccination are often questioned by people. The idea of injecting foreign objects into a person as a measure to prevent certain diseases is often looked down upon. This essay will argue why vaccinations play an important role in the life of a growing child and must be made compulsory by law. It is rightly said that prevention is better than cure. Vaccinating children at the early stages of development prevents them from various diseases and thus allows them to lead a healthy life. For instance, the Indian government launched the “Polio free India” program, making Polio vaccination compulsory for all new born babies. This enabled the country to eradicate Polio completely, both for the current and future generations. Indeed, the need of the hour is to make vaccinations compulsory by law. There are no qualms about the fact that vaccinations can be expensive, but the important fact is that they save lives. If parents are given a choice to immunise their children or not, they will certainly ignore the benefits of vaccinations and will only concentrate on the costs of such immunisations. For example, according to a survey by the National Immunisation Register, there was a decline in the number of children vaccinated against Hepatitis A in 2017, resulting in a sharp increase in Hepatitis A cases the following years. Clearly, a harsh decision made today to save a few dollars can risk a child’s future health. In a nut-shell, this essay argued why vaccinations play a pivotal role in shaping a child’s immunity against a disease and thus, they should be made mandatory by law. Truly, preventing a disease today by reducing a child’s vulnerability to it through vaccinations, is better than curing it later.