Some people think that if a country is already rich, any addition in economic wealth does not make its citizens happier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Irrefutably, during the current peak of economic growth, opinion is largely divided as to whether the happiness level of dwellers in developed nations is synonymous with a thriving economy. From a personal perspective, I would contend that the additional finances can add more value to the already happy life of citizens. Admittedly, the belief that extra money cannot bring further joy to the native in developed countries is legitimate to a certain extent. Firstly, the upsurge in economic wealth allows citizens to meet their basic requirements, thereby provoking them to become even more ambitious and desirous for other higher longings such as esteem needs or self-actualization illustrated in Maslow's hierarchy of Needs. On such grounds, it is nearly impossible to fulfil people's insatiable greed, hence ultimately becoming completely pleased and satisfied is impractical. Secondly, a thriving economy usually means increased wealth for the rich and stagnant living standards for the lower classes, who account for the large majority of the society, thus, not making local people any happier. However, it is my firm belief that additional affluence can substantially enhance the contentment of inhabitants in developed nations due to multifarious bases. The first aspect lies in its contribution to promoting social equality. Evidently, disadvantaged people still play a role even in developed countries. Therefore, a booming economy, which is equivalent to a higher state budget, enables the government to allocate more funds to education, services and the healthcare industry, leading to improved welfare for the lower classes and simultaneously diminishing social gaps. Additionally, such supplemental economic gains can benefit communities in terms of life satisfaction as employers can pay more attention to introducing policies aimed at boosting the level of satisfaction for workers which can be seen in Sweden, where employees are given a one-month paid leave. In conclusion, although there exist sound justifications for why additional economic wealth cannot benefit the overall contentment of residents in developed nations, I emphatically believe that given the advantages offered to the underprivileged part of the society, supplementary money can facilitate one's level of happiness.