The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern era, major internet firms have easily collected private data of their users. Although it may be an effective tool for serving customers better, this trend raises many valid concerns. In my opinion, the storage of personal information by large web-based companies and organizations will do more harm than good. On the one hand, internet companies themselves would argue that their intentions are primarily to provide more suitable services. Initially, users may feel convenient when they quickly see ads related to their favorites. However, being bombarded with loads of advertisements all days and nights, web-based users get annoy since their every activity on the internet to be tracked intensively. A survey in America has shown that once a participant was clicking on a page of a flower store, he would see more than ten other flower shops in his Facebook feeds. It is hard to count the number of advertisements a person facing with every day. In addition, the privacy and safety of users are put in danger when personal data is seized by third party. After analyzing individual information and behaviors, companies or organizations can manipulate users by giving confusing information. Take the latest US presidential election for example. It is believed that foreign organizations sought out vulnerable groups and fed them false instruction to influence voting result. Worse, when a great deal of private information is held by enterprises whose confidential level is not ensure, it likely to become target of technological criminals, such as hackers. Stolen data can be used to login into bank accounts or defraud by creating fake identifies. In conclusion, the benefits of access to personal information by internet enterprises do not overweigh drawbacks. It is suggested that governments enforce strict regulations that restrict the storage of private data.