In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units rather than in large family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

For many benefits, some individuals prefer to live independently or in one-generation families rather than multiple-generation families in the modern era. I believe both have advantages. In this essay, I am going to express my opinion on this pertinent topic. Living alone, people can live the way they want without any difference in lifestyle and living perspectives, as well as conflicts due to generation distance. In the modern world, people, especially young adults, have open views on life, and these views are different from the points of view of their parents. Thus, when living alone or getting married to someone of the same age, people can learn and work in the ways they believe are suitable for them. Therefore, everyone can live comfortably. Currently, youngsters choose to study higher in overseas countries to get more experience and be independent. Moreover, not living them with the family can avoid arguments caused by generational differences, and everyone would have a better and more harmonious relationship. Nevertheless, living in large family groups supports finances and mentality for each member. Savings for living costs could be possible when people live with their parents, furthermore not wasting money to buy a new house, which is overpriced in big cities. People can use that cost to develop themselves and invest in their families and children. Besides, individuals could take care of their parents, who are really easy to feel isolated from, especially with regard to mental health. In a pressurized society, living together as a family, people could take care of each other’s mental health. In conclusion, there are lots of advantages to both living alone and being part of a nuclear family or traditional extended family group. It depends on how individuals feel, so it's hard to say whether it's negative or not.