Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting the usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is now trending for people suffering from various health issues to try home-made medicines and therapies by themselves without consulting with their family doctors. As far as I am concerned, this is the negative trend and the reasons why this is a bad sign will be clarified in this essay.  Seemingly, there are two vivid reasons why findings alternative medicines and treatments by patients alone has negative impact. The first idea is that no one can possibly know more about pills than doctors. This means that doctors ’ accumulated knowledge is inevitably greater and broader than normal people due to their devotion to their study for several years. Therefore, for instance, if patient suffering from certain illness takes alternative medicines which can be dangerous without letting know his usual doctor, then in the long run, his health will surely break down because of the side effects from such treatments that he made with his limited knowledge. Another striking fact is that there will be huge misunderstanding between doctors and patients if this situation grows bigger and bigger. In other words, people would look up to themselves while underestimating doctors ’ skills if their alternative methods went well luckily once. As a result, they will stop visiting their respective doctors and this sacred job will become a dead profession eventually. In conclusion, I would argue that there is not a single possible effect that will benefit people by trying alternative medicines. While one of the noble professions (Doctor) can be vanished due to this manner, people ’s lives can be lost in the worst case. Hence, we need to have faith in doctors so that nothing undesired will happen in the future.