In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. What is the case? What can be done about this problem?

The advances in agriculture should lead to prosperity for humanity. Although the field of agriculture experiences rapid development, a lot of people around the world still lack food to consume. In this essay, I will explain two factors that cause the problem and propose two solutions to them. There are some causes that lead to this issue, one of them is that despite the overwhelming sources of food, distribution of them is not effective to reach remote areas. This is mainly because certain geographic areas need specialized infrastructure to transport food. A nation of thousand of islands, Indonesia, for example, still mobilizes its goods through the sea. If the infrastructure for the sea is not well-developed, it will be difficult to distribute them. Secondly, producing diets with high technology, which needs high investment, causes the prices to skyrocket. As a consequence, most of the consumers who live in poverty cannot afford to buy the products. In order to have good distribution, the government must allow a high proportion of its expenditure to build well-connected infrastructures, such as building docks, warehouses and toll roads. Although this needs high investment in money and time, the results of this investment can be sending the products faster and preventing decomposition of them because of long-time delivery. For example, the transportation of food by sea can take 14 days to reach its destination, and by building an integrated airport, the food can arrive in only 3 days. Furthermore, researchers must not only do research on the advances of its technology but also develop a method on how to suppress the cost of production without decreasing the quality. By doing so, the community, especially the unwealthy, will have access to fulfil their nutrition. To sum up, ineffective transportation and high-price of food might be the cause of hunger. However, by developing the infrastructure and suppressing the production cost, it will encourage society to have easier access to foods.