In many countries today major cities have become too big and overcrowded. Why is this? What measures could be taken to reduce this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge of experience.

Urbanization of many states has led to a dramatic increase in the number of people living in them, causing overpopulation. In this essay, I will be talking about possible actions that can be taken by both government and individuals to control the overcrowding. One of the major contributing factors to the increase in population size has been urbanization, which is a state of development of a city, this element attracts citizens from far and wide who are in search of greener pastures, because there is a greater chance of getting jobs in developed communities. For example, in Nigeria Lagos state has been experiencing clustering of people due to the number of companies and markets it has had over time resulting in congestion of the city by people, leading to traffic and increased crime rates. However, irrespective of this recent development I believe there are roles that both authorities and individuals can play to manage this issue. Firstly the government should ensure there is an even growth and expansion of more areas in the nation so as to enable occupants to have varieties of places to travel to. For instance, in,Ghana their leaders have made other states just as industrious as their federal capital, Accra. This step has brought about a reduction in the number of its occupants as they have more than one option in making travelling plans. Secondly, individuals are to think outside the box to find opportunities in lesser populated places. A case scenario is in Nigeria where people no longer go to its capital, Abuja for jobs but now travel far North to explore the recreational resorts they have there. This single effort has brought about the decongestion of Abuja and also the improvement of the economy of other communities. To conclude, the increase in the number of habitats in many places has greatly been caused by the development of these areas. If the authorities can also build infrastructures in other states it would go a long way in controlling the migration of people to already congested areas.