Write about the following topic: Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In a competitive job market, job seekers are working hard to find their dream job. Recruiters are hiring the best-performed candidates, and the rest of the applicants have to move forward with another vacancy. To mitigate the pressure of unemployment, the national government is providing welfare to have a smooth living. It is argued that such people have to involve in community service rather than doing nothing at home. This essay will further elaborate on this headway with some relevant examples. To begin with, labour market data from the world bank depicted that more than 50% of people who are looking for an occupation, in the long run, do not have the required skills. Apart from academic qualifications, the majority of employers are looking for employees with better communication, teamwork, hard-working, confidence and the ability to work under pressure. Hence, individuals who are failed the interview do not have good interpersonal skills. Moreover, managers are reluctant to offer work to people with a lack of practical applications. To cite an example, it is fundamental to have practical competencies to face real-world challenges. Nevertheless, it is the state's responsibility to treat every citizen equally. In order to reduce the detrimental effects of depression and financial stress, authorities are providing benefits for jobless people. However, engaging in voluntary projects have a positive outcome for job seekers. According to the behavioural psychologist's perspective, providing labour without any compensation can reduce the stress of being isolated. For instance, working at an elderly home will help ones to improve communication. Furthermore, an extra-curricular activity will be an added skill for an individual's resume. On the one hand, it has been proved with facts that volunteers are self-learners and improve their abilities by doing projects. On the other hand, it is a positive investment for society. To sum up, there has been ample amounts of evidence that prove the importance of doing community services without expecting remuneration. It improves the likelihood of getting an offer from employers.