The role of prisons should be to punish criminals who have committed serious crimes. Training courses and education offered to prisoners are a waste of taxpayers' money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Across the world, people who commit criminal activities were kept in jails to prevent them from committing another mistake and at the same time to change their behaviour by providing education or by training them for self-earning when they came out of prison. Few people may think it is wasting of taxpayers money but I will disagree their opinion and will explain my views in the following paragraphs. First of all, people will not commit any criminal activities if they have sufficient lively hood income and enough food for their family, but in some cases due to their family history or due to frustration people used to commit this kind of criminal activities. There may many reasons for their frustrations, they didn't get a proper job for their education even though they work hard or few people may not able to study to acquire good jobs like others. Due to this psychological fallings people may fall into wrong hands and tend to do this kind of activity and that leads them to jail. Second of all, By birth all humans are having the same kind of mental behaviours, it is the situation that changes their attitude. When the court gave punishment to any prisoner, the motive behind any punishment is to change them and kept in the right path so that they can mingle in society like others. To make this happen, govt needs to spend some amount on them to re-skill or to educate them. Once they succeed and are released from prison they will those skills to start a business or get new jobs that will give money, in that way they also become taxpayers like others. To conclude this, I would say few people commit mistakes to safe guard their lives and few folk may do mistakes due to their psychological mind. I totally agree with the statement by upskilling these people with gove money we can put them on the right path and we can make them taxable payers once they release from jail.