In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping center or mall to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, it can be seen that most people want to do their shopping in the plaza instead of going to a local boutique and buying domestic products. There are some pros and cons, which I will consider in this essay. On one hand, people who do shopping in massive shopping centres feel that shopping is time-consuming or they prefer to see a lot of clothes or other staffs and choose between them instead of having limited choices. Also, Shopping centres offer huge facilities for every individual. For instance, if you go to a shopping mall you can buy, a game and when you feel tired, go to foodcourts and have some rest. As a result, it is a package of entertainment activities which is known as the best place for families and people who are busy. But, it should be considered that buying from malls can be costly. On the other hand, local shops such as grocery, stationery shops and cafe shops which are handled by locals are most effective for naiberhoods when they need to have access immediately. Another positive effect is local market brings money to the region and it leads to development in local places. Furthermore, sometimes they offer domestic products which are more healthy. However, in some,cases you cannot find the best option for your consumption. To put it all in a nutshell, from my point of view, in recent years families prefer to go to shopping centres instead of shopping in local stores due to malls offering more places with different uses that are provided for a range of individuals with a different personality. Not to mention, as we can see the number of plazas increased rapidly in recent years.