The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I totally agree that using other options for non-renewable fuels must take precedence in today’s world. Consequently, exploring and developing renewable energy sources reduces environmental damage because sustainable energy sources promote the perpetuity of ecosystems. The detrimental effects of fossil energy are evident and using them continuously is catastrophic. If environmentally friendly renewable energy resources like wind and solar are used then fossil fuels like coal and oil will be obsolete. Clearly, current non-renewable energy sources are harmful to both the environment and the inhabitants of the world. In the case of offshore oil drilling, environmentalists argue that it is harmful to the ecosystem. As such, focusing on developing safe alternative energy sources means that ‘clean’ energy will be produced thereby significantly improving the sustainability of ecosystems and the environment. By exploring and developing other forms of energy, future generations will not suffer from diseases that are directly linked to the effects of fossil fuels usage. For example, skin cancer is thought to be caused by harmful ultra-violet rays from the sun, which is a consequent of a damaged ozone layer. A recent study shows that the burning of coal and deforestation owing to coal mining damages the ozone layer, leading to diseases such as cancer. Preserving forests like the Amazon and developing more wind farms as a source of clean energy prevents diseases from harming people and slows the rate of extinction for animals. In conclusion, nowadays, more than ever, as the world demands more energy, cleaner sources of energy must be prioritised over everything else. These should be renewable and not harmful to the world and its inhabitants. As long as fossil fuels are used, there will be harmful consequences. Thus, safer energy alternatives are the only way to save the world.