Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies ca make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples frm your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, a lot of awareness has been raised about issues related to pollution and deterioration of weather and the environment. There are many people who believe that a single person alone cannot do anything to affect the environment positively and that only large companies and ministries can make any noticeable impact. In this essay, I will argue that this is definitely not the case and that both parties can do a lot to contribute. There are various ways in which an individual may help benefit the environment. First, they should change their mindset that a single person cannot make any difference. One of the key ways of contributing is simply by throwing garbage only in bins and following the three "R"s: reduce, reuse and recycle. By stacking up multiple smaller changes, it can help create a larger one. For example, in Singapore, numerous people alongside their government have turned these ideas into laws and in turn, helped to keep not only their streets but also their communities clean and green. One of the ways most governments and companies try to remedy this issue is by raising awareness. This, however, is not enough. Governments should actively promote behaviour that encourages these actions while companies should avoid putting forward short-sighted solutions such as not shipping chargers with smartphones as these can create knock-on effects and create more waste than prevent it. In conclusion, there are many ways individuals can help improve the environment alongside governments and large companies. I believe that we, as individuals, should first change our beliefs to work toward the greater good. Only then can we see the results.