Some believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally and financially unable to look after themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A family relationship plays a significant role in order to take care of each other. Many argue that we need some legal guidelines for the youngsters to look after the elderly generation pertaining to their health and finance. From my viewpoint, I agree with this notion and will shed some light in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, millenials tend to ignore their parents and grandparents. In other words, youngsters move out of their house to study abroad and settle in a foreign land. Moreover, they are engrossed in their work lives leaving behind their older relatives. However, a few individuals financially aid their older people but find it difficult to support them mentally and physically. Thus, the silver generation will feel hollow and depressed thinking about the tough life and unimaginable situations. Furthermore, if there is a regulation then everyone tends to follow it. To elaborate on this, the older people will have a sence of security that if things go wrong then their kids will come forward to help them. To exemplify, a corporate employee can opt for a mediclaim to support their parent's well-being. Although it will be an arduous task for the office going family members to look after their grandparents continously, they could at least keep a tab on them. To summarise, the onus should be on the millenials to look after their earlier generations. If there are stringent policies then the older generation will feel secured and have a good life instead of worrying about the unprecedented scenarios.