Although most people are reacher than in the past, modern life seems very stressful and the number of people are suffering from stress is at record level. What are the main causes of stress in modern life and how could stress be reduced.

Today people earn enough to be self-reliant and have a better life. While this is true in contrast to the past, they, also, seem to be less happy and more stressed out than previous generations. This essay will discuss the possible underlying reasons for this and some solutions to handle the stress. First off, job instability accounts for a significant reason for stress. With more and more advancements in various fields and increasing interest and ability of people, job insecurity is a persistent cause, as many employers tend to make less skilful staff members redundant with more efficient ones. As a result, workers are more worried about their work. For example, an average man nearly spent half of his day fearing losing his job, which directly depresses the person. Second, working professionals get less time with their family members. It is most often the case where people spend less hours of a day with their children and spouse, leading to a less strong emotional bond. For example, getting home late and leaving early in the morning, plus working at weekends, these people are left with less or no hours to spend with their families. Therefore, two key reasons for stressful life are constant fear of losing the job and insufficient time spent with loved ones. To handle and decrease this mental state, companies should assure their employees about their positions and if they were to make an employee redundant, they should inform them beforehand at least a month ago, so that she/he can apply for another job. Furthermore, some new policies should be introduced by the company, such as complete no-work weekends and occasionally family trips for employees, so that they could enjoy family time with their loved ones. Moreover, if necessary, workers suffering from chronic stress should consult a doctor or could, also, do meditation on their own to maintain their mental state. Hence, assurance and occasional days off are some of the major remedies to cope with tension. In conclusion, for rich people, in order to maintain their status quo, tension comes handy. Despite the number of underlying factors that stem from the less security provided by companies to working overtime for the same, these organizations are, also, the ones that could play a crucial role in maintaining their staffs' mental health.