In the future, nobody will buy printed newspaper or books because the will able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a discussion that in further years ahead people will leave the conventional way of reading books and newspapers in printed editions because of the ability to do it online freely. It is agreed that nobody will buy printed newspapers or books again in the future. Analyzing the capability of current digital technology in innovating the industry, as well as the growth of creative business models to provide free services will prove this. Firstly, the innovation of the internet and mobile technology help a bigger scale of people gain access to more information easier and faster. To illustrate this, nowadays, everyone is capable of searching for a variety of news and stories only by the thumb in real-time. Furthermore, the support from the government to prioritize infrastructure improvement in rural areas means more communities are reached. In the end, those stated values are hardly challenged by the old businesses and starting to push them to be obsolete. Secondly, the growth of technologies shared in the previous paragraph also creates a new business model where newspapers and books are possibly free due to cheaper resources needed to produce and distribute electronic versions of them. For instance, many media ventures, like CNN or ABC News, have started to create media library that is open to the public for free while showing advertisements as a way of monetization. Moreover, there are other examples where the company also offer free service by selling the data of engagement or activities spent by them on the website or app to another business-to-business company where it will be used later to cross-sell other products. Physical-based industries could not replicate that model because of capital and operational cost restrictions. To summarize, technology has the capability to realize the dream of accessible and free information for everyone. Therefore, it is clear that the idea that people will be able to read everything they want freely in the future can be supported.