Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

It is often believed that our characteristics are inherited from our genes. I completely disaccord with this notion, only looks and some genetic diseases are inherited, and characters are mostly influenced by society,circumstances and education. To begin with, we have seen numerous cases where children may look similar to their parents but personality traits differ. Society plays a pivotal role in shaping the future generation. Juveniles learn from the movies they watch, as a society, we should educate them on good behaviour by making movies with good content. For instance,we have seen in many cases, where the father would be completely unfit, a drunkard and a failure in life, but the kid would be a different person, also in many,, cases there are students cracking tough civil service exams even though they do not come from a good parenting background. Secondly, the family has an important role in nurturing the younger generation, they absorb things easily from the elders with whom they spend a lot of time with them. They must be taught good qualities like politeness,respect, and social commitments. Thus, being raised by steady parents make them responsible and compassionate citizens. For example, being naive and too gentle can also cause trouble in career growth,because at work, self-confidence, boldness and a strong attitude are expected. We should change and adapt to character based on the place we are at. Moreover, quality is something doing right when nobody watches you. To conclude, it appears utterly insensible to claim that genes are responsible for one’s identity. In my opinion, the character of an individual can be modified with proper guidance.