Many people believe that schools should teach to become good citizens and workers rather than independent individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education is a way to enhance human beings by teaching them how they can achieve their goals and pursue their dreams. Many people, however, think that the main benefit of schools is helping them to behave and work rightly. Conversely, others believe that education should teach people independency. In my opinion, although acquiring good manners and work experience would impact extremely positively on society, acquiring independence would also affect an individual’s life in a positive way. To begin with, courses that focus on the theoretical contents can significantly help the students through their learning journey, yet will not help them how to become independent. When students finish their degree or diploma, they will find themselves engaging through a lot of requirements in order to be qualified for the occupation they are applying for it. To give an example, when being in a job interview, human resources will be focusing on facial expression, confidence, and smart answers. Therefore, students might need more than manners and knowledge. Despite the positive influence of the school syllabus, independency is also a necessary aspect of life. Even though that learning manners and how to become a good worker are for the benefit of students, life needs more than this. To illustrates, knowledge is important to fit into modern life, yet people will find themselves in some situations where they have to face them all by themselves. This may; therefore, explain why it is not entirely wrong to mix both views and update the traditional schooling. To conclude, there is a debate on whether teaching the students to become good citizens and workers has more advantages than teaching them to become independent. In my opinion, despite the significantly positive impact on the former method, schooling should consider teaching the students independency besides behaviours and knowledge.