Some people think that cultural traditions may be destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others believe it is the only way to save these traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the debate on whether making cultural traditions a form of attracting tourists is beneficial has been heated. While some people argue that locals may lose their traditions if they become money-making attractions, others believe that it is the only preservation. As far as I am concerned, positive outcomes can be brought by the method. To begin with, the true massages may not be passed on to the next generation. Since making a profit is the main purpose for the commercial products, sellers may focus more on how to cajole others to purchase instead of spreading the background history. For example, firms may require different styles of silk products in order to meet human wants but tell nothing about the process of silk production. Therefore, if cultural traditions are used as money-making attractions, the general public may only be filled with a vast number of cultural products but be ignorant about their traditional meaning. On the other hand, commercialization may help spread the traditions globally. As cultural products may be well exposed to the general public once they became money-making items, tourists may be attracted and encouraged to learn more about the traditional afterwards. For instance, people from the UK may be interested in eastern design after being amazed by the astonishing costumes from Africa. Therefore, the method may further educate people about certain cultures. In conclusion, though making traditions into merchandise may not well explain their real backgrounds, it is undeniable that commercialization can help expose cultures and prevent them from being abandoned.