In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

There is an idea in some societies that encourages the young generation to take one year gap between finishing high school and starting university studies. Several positive points are associated with this option, such as receiving a great deal of experience and being familiar with various situations. There are also some negative points like being away from education and personal expenditures. There are several advantages related to gap year for those who want to work or travel. Firstly, It can be a valuable experience for young people who tend to work during the period. They can learn new work and social skills that might help them prepare for university. Secondly, a year for those who want to travel would be a tremendous adventure. For example, Traveling abroad would be an excellent choice because they can be familiar with different cultures and ideas worldwide. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks that can cause some problems. First, one year gap between critical educational stages could be too long for the young generation. This can separate them easily from learning, and it might discourage them from continuing their education. In addition, The cost of one year of traveling or living alone can be prohibitive, so how they can supply such money. In conclusion, a gap year would have so many benefits for students, such as lots of experience they can gain if they have family support and an accurate plan for a whole year. However, it can be harmful to their educational process and interest.