Many researchers believe that we can now study the behavior of children to see if they will grow to criminals, while others disagree. To what extent do you think crime is determined by genetics?

People have different views that whether children's genes have an effect on becoming a criminal or not. While some people would rule out the possibility of determining this genetically, I believe that our genes play a pivotal role in forming our behaviour. To begin with, some people argue that the gene has no role in children’s future behaviour. From their point of view, what influences them is their environment such as school, neighbourhood and people who are somehow in touch with them. In other words, all human beings are born with the same ability to become a perpetrator but what finally propels them toward committing violations is just their external world, not their nature. Accordingly, the situation of children should be studied by researchers in order to find out their behavioural patterns. In spite of this, I strongly agree with the idea that most of the child's behaviours can be predictable by genetics. In my perspective, as the majority of us have God-gifted talents, there are also some genes in our structure which may lead to specific conduct. By way of example, some individuals are naturally cautious and some are a risk taker. As a result, those who always tend to take risks may commit more traffic offences like exceeding the speed limit and fatal accidents. Therefore, by analyzing children’s genes we can figure out whether they are prone to becoming criminals or not. In conclusion, while some individuals think that genetic study on children is futile in understanding their futere behaviour, I assume that our gene is likely to form our conduct and personality so that its effect is undeniable.