In spite of the advances made in agriculture , many people around the world still go hungry. why is this case ? what can be done ?

We are getting surrounded by plastics everywhere, be it the food we eat which mostly comes packaged in plastic or the water we drink from plastic bottles or the plastic bags that we use for our utility. Since plastics do not decompose back into the soil, they have become a nuisance for our enviornment and to the planet. Most of the plastic that we use end up piling in the garbage dump and some enter the ocean causing havoc in the oceanic ecosystem. In my opinion, before the dumped plastics cause an irreversible damage to our enviornment, it is the responsibility of both the government and individuals to arrest this problem. As we have seen in several studies and documentaries, the oceanic life is getting really disturbed by the plastic waste entering our oceans and impacting marine lives. Additionally, i personally have seen people dump their plastic waste in places of nature and tourism which also impacts the animal habitat and wild life. Plastic waste when burnt in the dumping grounds also add up to the air pollution. Micro plastic are also known to be one of the reasons for cancer. I feel, we are far away from absolving this plastic problem unless the government frames stricter laws such as banning the use of single- use plastic. Furthermore, the government could incentivize organizations who use organic material for packaging of their goods. We as individuals also have an equal role to play as the governments. We should be using lesser and lesser plastic as much possible, for example - carry a cloth bag when going for shopping and using metal or glass water bottles instead of plastic water bottles. Finally, i believe, if we religiously follow the concept of 3Rs - Reduce, Recycle and Reuse of Plastic then we can easily reduce this aggravating problem that plastics are causing to our enviornment.