Some people argue that children’s television programs should not contain advertisements. Others disagree. Discuss both sides of the debate.

These days, a large amount of advertising is aimed at children, and some people feel that it should have a negative impact. From my perspective, I believe it should not be completely unacceptable. The first reason to oppose advertisements aimed at children is that such advertisements may have a determining impact on their behaviour and health. In many families, parents deny their children something they want (i.e., toys, dolls, etc.), which they have seen on television. There will be conflicts between parents and children. As a result, the kids do not listen to their parents and have actions to take against them. Another reason is that advertisements for fast food and high-sugar drinks are making them appear more appealing and tasty. Unfortunately, children who do not understand the harm when they consume those products, easily purchase them. As a consequence, they can be at risk of many serious health issues, such as obesity or diabetes. However, not all advertisements have adverse results. There are a variety of advertisements that are non-commercial and provide educational information, such as courses and books. Moreover, the most effective solution is that both schools and parents need to teach kids about information processing skills so that they are no longer misled by advertising. To sum up, although advertising aimed at children may have certain negative impacts on behaviour and health, and misleading information from advertisements, it cannot be denied that some advertising serves educational purposes. If children can be taught critical thinking skills, they can absorb relevant advertisements.