Many people believe that a person’s culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that it has only minor influence. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

According to some, there is a significant influence on a person's culture which is derived from the country of origin, other people think that it has a minor impact. I personally agree that our roots could not be ignored except if we have lost the connections while our inner core was not fully formed or we select to continue to adapt. On the one hand, the national differences could be observed in our traditions, beliefs, religion and behaviour. Also, it could be easily distinguished when you talk to a fresh expatriate. However, the community in which we spend time has a huge impact, and humanity is not static. This means that each of us is slightly changing trying to fit the environment and it is derived from a natural mechanism of adaptation. For instance, my friend Eva, who is Russian, whom I met in Qatar, spent her twenties overseas studying at Sorbonne University, and then she received a job offer abroad in Switzerland. She has lost almost all her old attitudes and in my view, she behaves in a more European way. You would hardly recognise her identity if you could. On the other hand, the person which is moved abroad could be from a variety of environments including those that have highly modest attitudes or strong religion believes. Moreover, some of our beliefs are brought with a mother's milk and could not be changed under any circumstances. As an example, my other friend Rutuja who is Indian from a casta of Buddism. After she moved to Qatar, where we met each other, never stopped spending all her free time with local Indians and communicating with her family and friends, also she continued to practice meditation. Both girls have different views on adaptation to the local community. This makes me believe that an individual's cultural difference is caused by a variety of factors including willingness to change. To conclude, In my opinion, there is a strong correlation between the years we have spent in the country of origin or local community and the received impact, in a way that the influence is decreased proportionally with the age spent.