In many countries, truancy * is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. What are the causes of truancy, and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community?

In recent times, students have been frequently seen taking leaves from school, and their parents are clueless about it. This case, however, has recently been increasing and worries parents and teachers. This essay will give some possible reasons behind this type of behaviour and how it will impact students and society at large. To begin with, peer pressure is likely to be the primary reason behind this problem. It is a well-known fact that today, people are mostly influenced by their group members, and it is the latter who force children into such activities. For example, sometimes children bunk lectures because of the fear of losing their friends when they agree with them, and a lot of times it is the threats that they receive from the latter. The second reason, occasionally, is their lack of interest in studying. For example, someone who is more interested in classes such as arts will go to school on days when they have those classes and may skip on other days. In spite of the above-mentioned causes, truancy affects a child directly. Firstly, the child will underperform in his formal examinations due to the lack of knowledge resulting from missed classes. Furthermore, they often end up getting involved in petty crimes, namely trespassing, vandalism, mugging, and graffiti, and are labelled as spoiled children or petty criminals. Not only them, but society as a whole also becomes a victim of truancy. This ranges from having a bad influence on kids in a community to people being the victims of the above-mentioned crimes. To sum up, truants often indulge in bunking schools as a result of continuous persuasion from their friends and indifference towards studies. Besides a compromised future for them, it also has a bad impact on society in various ways.