Overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

In recent years, the ever-rising population might be the most significant issue that occurs in many metropolitan areas. There are manifold factors that have contributed to this problem; in fact, it is possible to overcome the problem by adopting effective means. To begin with, there are two main reasons causing the issue of overcrowding problems in urban cities. First of all, the rate of migration from rural to bigger cities significantly increases; limited job opportunities or low-paid work have forced people in rural areas to migrate for a better life. Furthermore, their hometown still lacks facilities; consequently, they choose to resettle in a bigger city to seek ample amenities. For example, rural regions in Indonesia do not have universities; thus, villagers have no other choice but either migrate and pursue higher education in metropolitan cities or work directly as labour workers. In order to cope with this constantly-evolving problem, there are a number of solutions that could be taken into consideration. It is commonly accepted that the government should rearrange the minimum salary policy and encourage industries to run their business in rural zones. Equally important, the government needs to focus more on evenly developing the infrastructure and facilities, especially the basic amenities. For instance, improving hospitals, establishing educational institutions, and enhancing more factories can help to fulfil the needs of village dwellers in the countryside. It is logical to conclude that urban areas having more companies and facilities than rural regions are the leading cause. However, providing higher salaries and vacancies and constructing more provisions in rural zones may be effective ways to tackle urban sprawling. (267 words)