The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What is the cause of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, more and more consumer goods are manufactured, more damage has been inflicted to the environment. Although there will be undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, individuals and government can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. There are two main reasons why the growth of the consumer goods industry is related to the environment. Firstly, manufacturing consumer goods need a lot of materials, but after the production is completed, the waste materials will be discharged into the environment. This means it will destroy the natural environment, all living species occupying the habitat will have reduced breeding capacity; thus populations will decline, and extinction becomes more likely. Secondly, the appearance of factories and companies decreases the natural lands, including forests and villages, which means people will lose an amount of oxygen from trees. Moreover, it can cause a greenhouse effect because the exhaust fumes from factories emit too much, the trees are cut down. There are several actions that governments could take to solve the problems described above. Governments should impose strict laws related to discharge of waste to manufacturers. If the amount of waste and exhaust fumes are higher than the regulatory amount, the factories or companies have to be punished. This leads to governments controlling waste and minimizing pollution. The other solution is that the government can request and encourage factories and citizens to grow trees. As a result, it can be balanced for the number of trees. In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise as the manufacture of consumer goods increases.