Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the flourishing and improvement of any given society entail some unpaid community service which can be done voluntarily or mandatorily. Regarding this matter, some individuals think that doing such activities ought to be an obligatory part of the second school programmes. In the following, I am going to describe the aforementioned matter in detail and give my own verdict on it. To begin with, I completely agree with the notion that unpaid philanthropic acts must be a compulsory section of teenagers’ curricula inasmuch as the obligatoriness of these deeds has at least two major benefits for youngsters: future job benefits and improving the sense of sympathy. Concerning the first -mentioned advantage, beyond the shadow of a doubt, it can be beneficial for their career prospects in that participating in unpaid society services, for example, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger ones can provide a chance for high school pupils to improve skills that are important for a workplace like communication and organization skills, teamwork and so forth; accordingly, these actions can help the future employment position of young ones who participate in the above-mentioned social welfare activities. Moreover, taking part in these kinds of operations like blood driving and donating or raising money for a local charity not only does empower the sense of co-operating with others but also raises sympathy feeling with disabled or poor people. Therefore, the more voluntary or mandatory philanthropic actions are done for any given society by teenagers, the more beneficial effects for both youngsters and the domestic association will be. In conclusion, I fully agreed with the compulsory existence of some unpaid community service in high school pupils’ curricula now that these philanthropic operations can be helpful both for the young students and the community, especially the weak ones who live among us.