Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The mobility of people within a country or city is equal to its economic growth. Similarly, transportation plays a significant role in economic development. In my opinion, governments must invest more money in building rail networks. These are economically viable as they haul more goods and people at once. However, using vehicles is expensive to maintain. This adds to congestion and pollution. Metro or goods rails are the best options for conveyance. Firstly, they are capable of loading more commuters and luggage in a single trip as compared to cars and buses. Likewise, commuters from residential areas into towns can utilize a train, which saves time and fuel. Subsequently, one can clearly see the convenience of trains. For instance, commuters from Pretoria to Johannesburg can use the Gautrain, which is more appropriate than using roads. Conversely, using cars and buses leads to congestion and pollution. More so, maintaining a steady supply of fuel to satisfy the exorbitant numbers of vehicles on the road is detrimental to the environment. Although road transport is appealing owing to its flexibility, there are more road accidents than rail. In addition, congestion puts economic pressure on governments to develop more efficient road systems thus making rail a better option. In conclusion, the advantages of investing more in trains outweigh those of using cars and buses. This makes rail the aptest means of transference. Carriageway transport, despite its appeal on opulence, creates bottlenecks and is hazardous to the environment. If more people use trains, there will be fewer cars on the roads. Therefore, governments should channel more funding toward rails than on roads.