Doing enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

In modern society, methods of children development are scrutinised by many parents, in order to boost kids’ all aspects of skills. Some argued that attending activity is the best way compared to merely reading books. Personally, I completely disagree with this statement. As both are equally important in terms of mental and physical health. To begin with, delightful activities will always enhance youngsters’ brain development. Regardless of outdoor activities, such as all kinds of sports, and indoor activities, like handcrafts and board games.These are not only increasing children ’s thinking but also their creativity. In Taiwan, for instance, art crafts and board games were added to the after-school curriculum for the sake of their cognitive development. In addition, while participating in those fun activities, pupils get the chance to interact with their peers, in that way, therefore, children ’s interpersonal skills are booming. On the other hand, through reading children can gain their knowledge comprehensively. Communicating and problem solving are not taught in school; therefore, kids need to read extracurricular books to gain their knowledge. Another reason is that reading can calm youngsters’ minds. Compared to children who can sit for hours reading and those who cannot read calmly their ability of solving problems is higher than the latter. My brother, for example, was raised to read more; as a result, he is able to deal with problems and express ideas better than me. In conclusion, although some favour one way more than the other. I would argue that either way should not be overlooked. Parents or caregivers need to assist young children to balance their learning orientation.