Some believe secondary students should learn international news as a subject at school, while others think it’s waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some sections of society believe that international news should be learnt at school as a subject, while others believe that it wastes time. In my opinion, I consider that learning global affairs assists students in elevating their critical thinking and raising global awareness. On the one hand, some individuals argue that reading about global happenings wastes students’ valuable time that they can utilise for grabbing other important information. If students spend their time finding out about global affairs, then they will be left with less time to focus on the curriculum and their grades will suffer. For example, students who spend hours reading unnecessary global affairs tend to get lower marks because these are not usually related to studies. However, studying international information in a spare time develops critical thinking, leading to the holistic development of juveniles. On the other hand, some individuals believe that studying foreign aspects builds not only critical thinking but also raises global awareness. It helps children analyse international facts about various circumstances, which are responsible for different situations, enhancing their mental ability as they conclude the situation. Additionally, they would come to know about foreign culture, tradition, religion, and food, adding to their general knowledge. For instance, juveniles who read international information are faster to provide solutions to complex situations, and their knowledge about history is far better than compared of those who have not been exposed to global affairs. This demonstrates that learning about foreign happenings helps children to enhance their abilities. In conclusion, even though reading cross cross-border happenings wastes study time, I firmly believe that the children who learns global news are superior as compared with others in terms of logical thinking and general knowledge