In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advertising has become a significant aspect of business competition, and it is popular for companies to advertise their products by presenting them as innovative commodities. From my point of view, it is reasonable for businesses to promote their goods in such a way, while I think this phenomenon could be a negative development. A possible reason for companies using this advertising approach is to attract more consumers. There could be a large number of enterprises in the market that provide highly similar products, which leads to fierce competition among companies. As a result, companies may choose to emphasize the new features of their products in their advertisements to attract more customers. For example, Apple launches its new products annually, and every new version of its devices would be equipped with new functions. Consumers could be more curious about the most advanced technology used in their products, and they are likely to purchase a new-launched device. However, emphasis on new features in the advertisements could be harmful, for it could contribute to a wasteful lifestyle. Consumers buy products with new features due to their desire to experience new functions, while the previous ones can meet their basic requirements as well. If customers are affected by advertisements emphasizing the unique features of their latest products, they may buy new products immediately. There are many adults possessing two mobile phones even though it is not essential for their daily lives. individuals affected by this kind of advertising for a long period could always buy new products instead of saving their money, which could be wasteful. In conclusion, the reason for companies advertising their products as new is to attract more consumers, while this kind of advertising may cause a negative effect on consumers ' purchasing behaviour.