Some universities offer their courses on the internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

University education is sought by many. While universities seek ways to expand and enhance the learning experience, e-learning is an innovation. Such online learning is beneficial as it provides greater flexibility in earning degrees, reduces education costs and accelerates career growth. University online courses allow individuals to continue further education at their convenience even while holding full-time jobs. Myriad digital classes and test schedules are available is for working professionals for further study. Besides,recorded lectures are made available, which learners can view at their convenience. For instance, my friend, whose job has a busy schedule, enrolled himself in an online university program and graduated successfully. Even those who cannot pursue classroom programs can use such opportunities to enhance their educational qualifications. Secondly, e-learning is cost-effective as there is no accommodation or travel cost. Learners do not have to take substantial educational loans to pursue their academic interests. For example, virtual learning helped me pursue two postgraduate degrees at a reasonable price. Although there is an amount paid as tuition fees, the reduced cost would make it affordable for most people to continue studying. Finally, if the certification is gained from a reputed University, electronic learning aids job progression. Working professionals can enrol in online programs to acquire skills for specific projects at work. This fosters career development. To conclude, is on-campus education the only way to study? Certainly not. Yet, with the mushrooming growth of online courses at the university level, every interested individual can now continue education anytime and reap the rich rewards of professional qualifications, with flexible schedules and less cost. It is indeed a significant development and should be supported.