Many people in the music business feel that illegal music sites on the internet are a serious threat to the industry and more should be done to prevent them from operating. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Overall, I agree with the statement that there are so many websites on the internet which are not legal, and these sites impose a serious risk to the whole music industry. Also some actions must be taken in order to stop these sites from working. The first and foremost reason for my agreement is that these websites are created by either local people or hackers, and this is actually a breach of privacy. These people have no rights and permissions to operate them, but still, in order to earn money and subscribers they upload unauthentic songs and other contents of actual singers. However, this is not legal in any ways, and is a threat to the privacy. For example, on Youtube there are so many links and accounts created by anonymous individuals where they have uploaded videos and songs of famous musicians, which are copyright and unauthorised. In addition to this, these fake websites are not safe. It is common to see that they have attracted titles of popular songs to lure people, and when people click on these links, there sensitive information get hacked. Moreover, sometimes these people alternate the music and lyrics of the original song which is illegal and unacceptable. Also, people operating these sites are earning money after having millions of subscibers on their channels. If we talk about measures to refrain people from this activity then the government has to take necessary steps. For example, the government must apply a background check for a person before they open accounts on youtube or activate any illegal website. There should be a tight security check, and also if any individual tries to upload a content which does not belong to them then that should be prohibited. In conclusion, there are people who are resposible for operating websites without being legal, and this is imposing a serious threat to the whole music industry, but with proper government intervention people could be refrained from doing so.