Nowadays, young people communicate with friends and family mostly through social networking sites, rather than other ways of communication like talking on the phone or face to face. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, social media seems so prevalent that it almost replaces phone and face-to-face conversations, even between family members and close friends. From my perspective, it is beneficial for long-distant relationships, but it should not be overused on a daily basis. Opponents of social networking communication might belittle it by arguing that it hinders in-depth emotional connections. Before the advent of social media, family and friend gatherings were more popular than today. These allowed people to not only talk to each other but also participate in bonding activities such as cooking, camping, or playing sports to strengthen their relationships. However, numerous youngsters nowadays are living far from home, which means that it is impossible for them to meet their family and friends in person. Therefore, social networking sites, which provide chat platforms and video calls, become a preferable choice since it enables lifelike conversations regardless of geographical distance. Thanks to that, people can keep in touch and nurture their relationships even though they are no longer in proximity. Another feature that makes social networking sites superior to other forms of communication is that they are complimentary. They connect users around the world through the internet; thus, the users can contact anyone as long as they have a smart device of any kind, from phones to computers with internet access, in their possession. It is far more financially beneficial compared to phone, which can add up to a significant amount, especially with cross-border calls. Hence, social networking is an irreplaceable option for the youth who are typically financially struggling. In conclusion, communication through social networking sites is advantageous since it bridges the geographical gap and brings family and friends closer. It is also a cost-efficient choice for the financially incompetent. However, since face-to-face interaction has an undeniable upside of nurturing deeper emotional connections, it should be made use of when there is no geographical barrier.